The CEF currently serves Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, and Türkiye. We primarily serve ministries of finance, central banks and tax administrations. Going forward, we will engage broader circle of stakeholders interested in making public financial management more effective including line ministries, agencies specialized in budget and tax matters, parliaments and top-level government officials.

Map of CEF Constituency

With the change of CEF legal status to an international organization on January 1, 2015, all remain beneficiaries of the CEF program. CEF members can influence all major decisions through the CEF Governing Board, a decision making body of the CEF. The representation in the CEF Governing Board and thus the right to decide on the CEF program and strategy is open to CEF members, i. e. countries that ratified the Agreement on Establishing the Center of Excellence in Finance as an international organization (the Agreement).

Thus far eight countries ratified or acceded to the Agreement: Albania, Bulgaria, Croatia, North Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Romania and Slovenia while in other countries ratification procedures are still ongoing.

CEF membership is open to any country or international organization that is interested in promotion of knowledge exchange, delivery of training and facilitation of technical assistance in public financial management, central banking and other areas of public administration.